Bursary Winner 2018

To mark its Golden Jubilee in 2007, Hereford Police Male Choir introduced a special Young Musicians Bursary of £850. This bursary is awarded annually to a promising young musician in either Herefordshire or Worcestershire to help develop a career in music.

The bursary, now £1000, is sponsored by the Becket Bulmer Fund (managed by the Herefordshire Community Foundation), which aims to encourage a love of music amongst young people.

Violinist Raye wins Bursary

The winner of the 2018 Hereford Police Male Choir’s Young Musicians’ Bursary, worth £1000, is Raye Harvey of Hereford, a 21 year old violinist.

Raye is a third year student at the Royal Northern College of Music and a former Leader of Herefordshire Youth Orchestra. Sher performs with the Piccadilly Symphony Orchestra in Manchester. She was one of ten candidates from Herefordshire and Worcestershire competing for the bursary sponsored by the Beckett Bulmer Fund, managed by the Herefordshire Community Foundation.

The 2018 finalists:

(left to right) Michael McCourt, Lauren Bough, Livi Van Melo, Raye Harvey (winner), Conor Burton (seated_, Emily Evans, Eden Lloyd, Rhiannon Turton, Jennifer Newton, Rose Johnson.